Our Board

Geoff Thomas, Director

Geoff is the Principal of Axant, a boutique corporate advisory company, headquartered in Adelaide, South Australia.


Geoff has worked in many business areas, from defence, construction and manufacturing, through to electronics, information technology, life sciences and the finance sector. He has worked across all areas of the business lifecycle, from startup, to exporting, to improving a mature company, to the sale of the business.


He has extensive business networks across Adelaide and in the private equity and venture capital sectors in Australia, and is an experienced director of listed and private companies.



Peter Devine, Director 

Peter Devine is the CEO of Uniseed. Peter has extensive experience at board and executive management levels in the commercialisation of early stage life-science companies, having held senior R&D, business development and commercialisation positions in a number of Australian companies and Australian universities.  He was formally Vice President of Business Development at Progen Industries Ltd, R&D and Commercialisation Manager at PanBio Pty Ltd and worked in business development at UniQuest Pty Ltd.

Peter holds a PhD from the University of Queensland and received the Dean’s Prize for his MBA Studies at the Australian Graduate School of Management.  He received a Centenary Medal in 2003 for outstanding contribution to the business of biotechnology.  He is a Graduate and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and holds Diploma of Financial Services (Financial Markets) and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance from Kaplan Professional. In 2011 & 2012, Peter was named on the Kaplan High Achievers Honour Roll.

Russell Yardley, Director

Russell has been a professional Non-Executive Director and Chairman for the past decade following a career in the informational technology and communications sector. He is Chairman of ASX listed Tesserent Limited, on the boards of two WPP companies Wunderman and Bienalto, Chairman of the Australian Federal Government funded National eResearch Collaboration Resources and Tools project, a member of the Victorian Government Purchasing Board as well as being an honorary member of the board of the Alannah and Madeline Foundation.


After spending more than 7 years at IBM he founded his first company Decision Engineers that was merged with ASI to form Applied Learning that was then listed on the ASX in 1993. Russell was the Victorian State Chair 2010-2011 and the National Treasurer 2011-2014 of the Australian Information Industry Association.



Dr Viraj Perera, Director

Viraj is the CEO of UniSA Ventures – the wholly-owned technology transfer company of the University of South Australia (UniSA). He was previously the CEO of PlaTCOM Ventures – the national technology commercialisation platform of Malaysia, Government of Malaysia.


His expertise lies in technology transfer, innovation and commercialisation of early-stage technologies. He has gathered a wealth of knowledge and experience in the field by  working for elite organisations such as the University of Oxford and University of Warwick as well as organisations in the private sector.


Viraj holds a PhD in Molecular Biotechnology, a Graduate Diploma in Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology, and a Bachelor of Science Degree in Microbiology.